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General information

In Oregon, property taxes are assessed for real
property, machinery and equipment, manufactured
structures, business personal property, and floating
structures. Oregon has an ad valorem property tax
system, which means the property taxes you pay are
based on the value the county assessor establishes
for your property.

The assessor determines the value of most taxable
property on January 1, prior to the beginning of the
tax year. The tax year runs from July 1 through June
30. January 1 is called the “assessment date.” The
assessor’s determination of value will appear on the
tax statement mailed to you in October.

The following terms and definitions are provided to
help you understand how your property is valued
and assessed.

* Real market value (RMYV) is the value the assessor
has determined your property would sell for on
the open market as of the assessment date. RMV
appears on most property tax statements.

* Maximum assessed value (MAV) is the greater of
103 percent of the prior year’s assessed value or 100
percent of the prior year’s MAV. MAV isn’t limited
to an increase of 3 percent if certain changes are
made to your property. These changes are called
exceptions. MAV doesn’t appear on most tax state-
ments.

* Assessed value (AV) is the value used to calculate
your tax. It is the lesser of RMV or MAV. Assessed
value appears on your tax statement.

* Exception means a change to property, not includ-
ing general ongoing maintenance and repair or
minor construction. Changes that could affect
maximum assessed value include new construction
or additions, major remodeling or reconstruction,
rezoning with use consistent with the change in
zoning, a partition or subdivision, or a disqualifica-
tion from special assessment or exemption. Minor
construction is defined as additions of real property
improvements with a real market value that doesn’t
exceed $10,000 in one assessment year or $25,000
over a period of five assessment years. Exception
value doesn't appear on your tax statement.

* Specially assessed value (SAV) is a value estab-
lished by statute. The legislature has created several

150-303-668 (Rev. 12-08-23)

www.oregon.gov/dor

programs that set lower assessed value levels for
certain types of property. Each program has spe-
cific applications and use requirements. Examples
of property that may qualify for special assessment
are farmland, forestland, historic property, govern-
ment-restricted low income multi-unit housing, and
property that qualifies as “open space.” SAV appears
on most tax statements for property that is specially
assessed.

Properties appraised by Department
of Revenue

If you wish to appeal the value of industrial proper-
ty appraised by the Department of Revenue (DOR),
you must file your appeal with the Magistrate Divi-
sion of the Tax Court. The deadline to file an appeal
is December 31. If December 31 falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, the filing deadline moves to
the next business day.

The value and late filing penalties of utilities and
other centrally assessed property must be appealed
to DOR on or before June 15 of the assessment year.

Appealing to your county property
value appeals board

Appealing to the county property value appeals
board (PVAB) is generally the first step in the appeal
process. Most appeals start at this level.

You may appeal the current year real market, maxi-
mum assessed, specially assessed, or assessed value
of your property. However, the authority of PVAB to
reduce the MAV and AV of your property is limited
to the calculation allowed by law and an appeal
may not result in a reduction of tax.

The majority of appeals will be based on a differ-
ence of opinion between you and the assessor about
RMV. In such cases, you will need to present evidence
about the market value of your property as it existed
on the assessment date. Evidence might include an
appraisal report of your property done by an indepen-
dent appraiser or a comparison of your property with
similar properties that have sold in your area close to
January 1 of the assessment year.

Comparing the value on the tax roll of your house to
the value on the tax roll of your neighbor’s house, or
comparing the taxes you pay to the taxes your neighbor
pays is generally not considered satisfactory evidence.
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The following are examples in which an appeal of
RMYV may result in a tax benefit:

e The board reduces the RMV below the assessed
value currently on the roll.

* Your property was improved in the previous
assessment year and the board reduces the value
of the new construction.

* The board reduces the RMV of your property, and
the reduction requires property taxes to be reduced
to meet constitutional limits on the education and
general government categories of your taxes. See
Tax Limitation (Compression) at www.oregon.gov/
dor/property for more information.

Penalties charged for late filing of a current year’s real
or personal property return with the county asses-
sor, or combined industrial property return with the
Department of Revenue, may also be appealed to the
board. The board may waive all or a portion of a pen-
alty imposed for the late filing of a return if:

* You can prove there was good and sufficient cause
for the late filing, or

* The year for which the return was filed was both
the first year that a return was required to be filed
and the first year you filed a return.

How to file your petition

You must file appeals between the date the tax
statements are mailed and December 31. If Decem-
ber 31 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday,
the filing deadline moves to the next business day.
File your petition with the county clerk’s office in the
county where the property is located. You can get the
forms you need from your county clerk or county
assessor’s office. You may also download forms from
www.oregon.gov/dor/property.

If you aren’t the owner of the property, carefully
read the petition instructions to learn if you are
qualified to file the appeal.

The board will consider your appeal between the
first Monday in February and April 15. If you choose
to appear at the hearing, PVAB will send you written
notice of the time and location. If you choose not to
appear, the board will make a decision based on the
evidence you submit with the petition.

The board will notify you in writing of its decision.
If you aren't satisfied with the decision, you have the
right to appeal as follows:
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Appealing county board decisions

You may appeal a decision of PVAB to the Magistrate
Division of the Oregon Tax Court by filing a written
complaint. The assessor may also appeal the board’s
decision.

Complaints must be filed with the Magistrate Divi-
sion within 30 days (not one month), after the board’s
order is mailed or personally delivered to you. You can
download appeal forms at www.courts.oregon.gov; or
write to: Clerk, Oregon Tax Court, Magistrate Division,
1163 State Street, Salem OR 97301. You can also order
forms by calling 503-986-5650 or by calling your county
assessor.

Appealing magistrate decisions

You may appeal magistrate decisions to the Regu-
lar Division of the Oregon Tax Court. To appeal, file
your complaint with the court clerk within 60 days
(not two months) after the date of the magistrate’s
decision. The tax court clerk will notify you of the
trial date and time.

A trial in the Regular Division of the Oregon Tax Court
is a formal proceeding. Although you may represent
yourself, most people prefer to be represented by a
lawyer. If you aren't satisfied with the tax court deci-
sion, you can appeal to the Oregon Supreme Court.

Failure to appeal to PVAB

Under very limited circumstances, the Magistrate
Division may be able to hear your appeal if you miss
the deadline for filing with PVAB. In addition, we
may consider a request to address an error on the
roll, if certain conditions are met. For more informa-
tion about filing a petition with the department, see
the publication Request for Supervisory Review, 150-
303-688. You may obtain a copy from the website
listed below.

Do you have questions or need help?

www.oregon.gov /dor
503-378-4988 or 800-356-4222
questions.dor@oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in
other languages.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the
help numbers for information in alternative formats.
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